Monday, April 26, 2010

Musa Hilal wins parliament seat in Sudan - Arop Madut retains MP seat for Abyei

Janjaweed leader wins parliament seat in Sudan
From Radio Dabanga, Monday, 26 April 2010:
(Khartoum) - Musa Hilal, a prominent leader of Janjaweed militia, has won a seat in the National Assembly. This was announced by the National Elections Commission.

Hilal is paramount chief of the Um Jalul clan of the Mahameed Arab tribe in North Darfur. His alleged role in atrocities committed in Darfur led to a UN Security Council resolution in 2006 that put him under a travel ban and asset freeze. Despite the allegations against him, in 2008 he was appointed by President Bashir as special advisor at the Ministry of Federal Affairs.
Veteran Sudanese journalist Arop Madut retains MP seat for Abyei
From The New Sudan Vision (NSV) by Mading Ngor, Monday, 26 April 2010:
(Victoria BC NSV) - Arop Madut, the author of Sudan’s Painful Road to Peace has been elected as MP to represent Abyei in South Sudan’s Legislative Assembly, he told New Sudan Vision Monday.

Arop, who was previously representing Abyei in SSLA said he was running unopposed until “during the last days [when] one fellow calling himself a SANU representative nominated himself, and I was forced to contest, to campaign.”

Arop said the voting went peacefully in Abyei, saying the SPLM was the favourite for the electorate in the area.

Deng Alor, Deng Athieng, Arop Deng Kuol, and one other MP will represent Abyei in southern and national assemblies.
More news from Radio Dabanga:
Scores of arrests made in case of El Fasher market scam
Darfur rebel Abdel Shafi joins LJM for Doha talks
Darfur assembly candidate rejects election outcome
Kalma camp leader says 5000 new arrivals
- - -

FACTBOX: Sudan presidential election results
From Sudan Tribune, Tuesday 27 April 2010:
10,114,310 valid votes cast

1. Omer Hassan Al-Bashir (National Congress Party) 68.24% - 6,901,694 votes

2. Yasir Arman (Sudan People’s Liberation Movement) 21.69% - 2,193,826 votes

3. Abdullah Deng Nhial (Popular Congress Party) 3.92% - 396,139 votes

4. Hatim Al-Sir (Democratic Unionist Party) 1.93% - 195,668 votes

5. Al-Sadiq Al-Mahdi (Umma Party) 0.96% - 96,868 votes

6. Kamil Idriss (Independent) 0.76% - 77,132 votes

7. Mahmood Ahmed Jeha (Independent) 0.71% - 71,708 votes

8. Mubarak al-Fadil (Umma Reform and Renewal Party) 0.49% - 49,402 votes

9. Munir Sheikh El-din Jallab (New National Democratic Party) 0.40% - 40,277 votes

10. Abdel-Aziz Khalid (Sudanese National Alliance) 0.34%- 34,592 votes

11. Fatima Abdel-Mahmood (Sudanese Socialist Democratic Union) 0.30% - 30,562 votes

12. Mohamed Ibrahim Nugud (COMMUNIST PARTY) 0.26% - 26,442 votes


2,813,830 valid votes cast

1. Salva Kiir (Sudan People’s Liberation Movement) 92.99% - 2,616,613 votes

2. Lam Akol (Sudan People’s Liberation Movement for Democratic Change) 7.01% - 197,217 votes

No comments: